Blogs (early and modern)

by Nick

So, farewell then, Cliopatria: after eight years, like all good things, it has come to an end. Cliopatria played a really significant role in the beginnings of the history blogosphere, and in more recent years has been the hub around which a lot has focused. Ralph Luker in particular was very kind to me when I had just started this blog, and was taking my first tentative steps into hosting blog carnivals and the like. The Cliopatria Awards have also been a very important means of bringing new readers to history blogs, even if I remain cross with them for never giving Airminded the recognition it deserves. And I will remember in particular the controversy about Mercurius Rusticus, and the comment and discussions it sparked.

The history blogging scene feels quite different now than it did in 2006 or so. A lot of the sites that first inspired me are semi-dormant or no more, and I sense that a lot of the discussion that used to happen in comments has now moved onto Twitter and elsewhere. But there are still lots of brilliant bloggers doing exciting and interesting things, and new history blogs keep popping up all the time. A case in point is Eagle Clawed Wolfe, by a friend and former classmate: expect lots of interesting posts about early modern Britain, Italy and France.