Clio’s labyrinth

by Nick

I popped over to the Senate House library in London this afternoon to look up a few things – mostly trawling through the Calendar of State Papers Domestic, which irritatingly for Charles I’s reign aren’t available online for free – they’re part of the premium content over at British History Online. Once inside I got thoroughly lost. It’s being renovated so stacks have been relocated. By the time I got to the sixth floor I had no sense of direction and then on leaving took 10 minutes to find the right staircase out. It’s reassuring that merely entering an academic library makes me lose any adult competencies whatsoever!

On a different note I also joined the IHR – at some point I am going to have to experience the tearoom. Unfortunately Oyster card readers on the Tube seem to get confused by the membership card, though!